Did Australian Aborigines Put Up a Fight?

It strikes me as odd, but I don’t think I’ve ever heard of any pitched battles between British settlers and Australian aborigines. Were there any such battles? Warfare between colonists and natives just about everywhere else has been thoroughly documented-- battles with the Zulu in Africa, the Maori in New Zealand, Indians in the Americas, etc. At least here in the States, though, we don’t seem to hear much about the Australian experience with the Natives. How did it go down?

I’m not an expert on this. Just sharing my australian schoolboy knowledge of the subject.

There were no major organised battles as such, however there were a few minor skirmishes. The Aborigines are a generally peaceful people, and reaction to the British landing was muted. Reports range from the first words spoken by one of Sydney’s local Eora people being “warra warra” (go away), to the British being mistaken for ancestral ghosts due to their pale skin, and being accorded a lot of respect because of that. I think the truth is somewhere in the middle, and that is that the Aborigines simply preferred to keep out of the way of the British for the most part. Bear in mind that Aboriginal society is communal, and there was little notion of ownership in our sense of the word, so there was no feeling of “newcomers taking our land”.

The indigenous population of Australia was quite small when the British arrived. 600, 000 people or so in a country nearly the size of the USA, so this had an effect on reducing conflict. Probably the biggest danger for the local people was the introduction of new, exotic European diseases for which they had no immunity. Also, the introduction of alcohol - a situation similar to the American experience.