Did CEO worship die with Steve Jobs?

Oh St. Steve, you’re in heaven now–or wherever people go who disavow their biological children and exploit Taiwanese workers to save money. Wherever you are, however, you’re still worshiped as the Innovation Christ…

But it just occurred to me the other day that, since the passing of Lord Jobs, there aren’t any CEOs worshiped in the tech space or elsewhere, except for perhaps the perennial (and somewhat justified) respect accorded Warren Buffet (those who say, “What about Warren Buffet?” below will be cited for not reading the OP).

In the 90s, I was an MBA student, and it was different. The gods included Jack Welch, Bill Gates, Larry Elison, Steve Dell–pretty much any CEO of a big, up-and-coming or still-going company was having his ding-dong sucked by the bubble-fanning press.

Today, though? Who are the candidates for worship, and are they actually worshiped? Lessee:

Mark Zuckerberg. Facebook makes money, whoo hoo! setting it apart from most tech companies these days. Despite that, praise for the man-child at its helm is surprisingly… tepid? Not really there? I googled and found articles about Zuck’s management style, etc., but it mostly looked like guru content, i.e., crap by guys with something to sell themselves. I don’t sense the love for Marky Mark and the Facey Bunch.

Jeff Bezos. He seems to get more criticism these days for Amazon’s business practices than for the megabiz he’s built. Again, the lack of love is a bit mystifying.

Elon Musk. I hear a lot about Tesla and SpaceX, but I don’t hear a lot about him.

Those Google guys. Serge and whoever. Same thing as Elon. I hear a lot about Google, but those guys seem lake shadowy mandarins who don’t get a lot of press about their ingenious management methods.