Didn't Know Doughnuts Die

I was PLANNING to get the new tires for my car next month, but it’ll have to be today. All are bald and the front driver’s side tire has been filled with umpteen cans of Fix-O-Flat.

So I stopped to put a little more air in today before work, then I get on the highway. Just near my exit, and at 68 MPH-- KABLAMMO! Tire goes poof! Thank goodness no one was next to me. It was pretty easy to control, but I was basically turning right to go straight.

I remove the shredded tire. It had a two-inch hole on the side from where it popped. Next I put the doughnut on, fasten the bolts and drive away.

10 feet later, I can hardly steer. I thought the damn doughnut fell off. NOPE! It shredded too! WTF??? The car is a 2008 Honda CR-V and I’ve never used the doughnut before. My Facebook cohorts tell me they wear out just sitting there. So, what’s it made of? Cardboard? Fairy dust?

So, hello Pep Boys. I’m getting 4 new Cooper tires now. 80,000 mile warranty. The Bridgestones that came with the car evidently have no mileage warranty.

Two college degrees, but no knowledge of tires whatsoever. Must’ve skipped the auto repair classes. How do doughnuts “go bad” sitting in a wheel well for a few years?

(Please feel free to share any of your embarrassing tire stories too. Might make me feel better. Grumble, grumble…grrrr…)

Did you buy the car brand new and are certain nobody else has used the donut? They’re only have a lifespan of 50 miles or so and aren’t to be driven on very fast. Could have been a perfectly good donut that you just drove on wrong.

Since it went out so fast my guess is that you didn’t secure the lugnuts well enough.

You were probably driving too fast. They recommend 50mph here. I’d stay closer 40mph myself. They are pretty flimsy.