Digital Camera Question

I’ve been watching NASA TV and the recent un-docking of the orbiter from the ISS.
I noticed the crew in the shuttle taking pictures of the station with what seems to be digital SLR’s.
I have one too and it has Image Stabilization incorporated into it.

My question is:
Does image stabilization as it is implemented in earth-bound digital cameras work in zero gravity?

Earth orbit isn’t zero gravity. They’re in constant free fall, but it’s a gravitational field.

I am not an expert in mechanics but I would say that yes, it would still work in zero-g.

There are actually a number of techniques that can be used to achieve image stabilization. In a still camera, this is likely based on gyroscopes. There are systems that use the gyroscopes to adjust the position of the lens and others that stabilize the image sensor.

I was curious if the stabilization was from mechanical sensors (hence the gravity question), or if it was programmed into some sort of digital motion pixel sensors.

And yes I am aware of micro-gravity.

Here is a description of Nikon’s VR system.

But I’m still not clear if these “Angular velocity sensors” are dependant on a gravitational force in order to work properly.

I hope I’m making myself understood. It’s in the wee hours, and my brain becomes inefficient after midnight. :slight_smile:

The cameras we have on earth can be used upside down and still the image stabilisation works, with gravity (although still there) working in the opposite direction. I guess it would also work if you were a parachutist in freefall, although i’d have to give it a try to find out.

Maybe searching online for pictures taken by sky divers would answer your question?

They rely on inertia, not on gravity!

Basically I don’t know the precise answer to your question directly, and unfortunately what I do know I am not really allowed to tell you. I’ll tell you what I can though.