Dinner Rolls, (US) Biscuits, Sugar, and Yeast

This is sort of a multi-pronged thread.

First, I’ve been thinking of making dinner rolls myself. My food allergies make purchasing ready-made food problematic so I’m thinking home made will be better for me. I’m not at all intimidated by breads/yeast doughs as I’ve been baking bread for close to 30 years now.

This being the 21st Century I went on line to find some dinner roll recipes and was more or less appalled at the quantities of sugar frequently involved. The fact I have a diabetic spouse just makes it more of an issue (he does budget for some sugar in his food, but I really don’t want to be presenting him with excessive amounts, and certainly not without warning). So, first question: Does anyone have a decent dinner roll recipe that doesn’t involve tons of sugar?

Second, virtually all of the recipes seem to involve getting the yeast started in hot water, waiting for it to froth up, then adding it to the other ingredients. While I’m aware of this sort of thing the way I was taught to make yeast dough involves adding the yeast to the dry ingredients then adding heated liquids (yes, I use a thermometer, I’m not that fond of guess work for this sort of thing). So my preference is for the dry yeast rather than the wet yeast method, although I can do either and I’ve been known to convert recipes from one to the other.

If it’s at all relevant: I don’t’ have a bread machine. Heck, I don’t even have a mixer, I combine, mix, knead, etc. all with bare muscle power.

I’d really like a truly basic recipe without a ton of ingredients. I can always experiment later, right?

Also, anyone have a simple biscuit recipe? US style biscuits, I’m aware what we Americans call a biscuit and what the UK calls a biscuit are somewhat different. :wink:

These are utterly awesome, albeit a bit sticky (the dough.)

Cafeteria Lady (Dinner) Rolls

Ready in: 2 hrs
Serves/Makes: 16

Ingredients:

½ teaspoon conditioner (or not)