Do I have supernatural time-telling powers?

I am - and have always been - a very poor sleeper, who usually wakes up several times during my pitiful 4 or 5 hours’ kip each night. Over the years I have acquired the habit of immediately guessing what the time is as soon as I am aware I am awake. I try to do so before I have sensed any clues, such as the light or sound level outside. Or looking at my [digital] watch, which is the only timepiece in my bedroom and which I keep under my pillow.

This morning, I awoke and guessed 3.25; it was actually 3.27. I have not kept a record of my performance, but I would estimate that I get very close to the actual time - to within 10 minutes - well over half the time (when I get it wrong, I am out by hours). I can still do it when I am in other time zones. And also during daylight saving.

Not being a statistician, I would like to think that my success rate is beyond that of pure chance and that I am somehow blessed with the supernatural ability to ‘know’ what the time is. A thoroughly useless ability, I accept, but an odd one nevertheless.

But am I? Or is this something anyone can do if they put their mind to it? Is it something sleep researchers look for it?

I could be mistaken but I think this belongs in a different forum.

Anyway. I used to have something similar. I would consistently wake up within about 3 minutes of my alarm clock going off. Even if it was set at different times on different days. And even if I forgot to set it (I’d wake up within 3 minutes of the time it would have gone off)

I used to work with a guy who never used an alarm clock - he just decided what time he wanted to wake in the morning and would wake up then. We were out surveying in the middle of nowhere and he used to take a nap after lunch. If I said we were gatting back to work in 40 minutes, he would wake up 39 minutes later. It got to the point that the whole survey crew would lay down for a nap and Dave would wake us on time.