Do kids still play with yo yos?

Yo yos were very popular for a few years when I was a kid. During the 70s and early 80s they weren’t uncommon to see in public or on tv.

I was writing a note to someone today. I stopped short of making a yo yo reference for fear I would sound even more uncool than normal. I haven’t seen a yo yo in years.

Do kids still play with yo yos or are they a thing of the past?

I’m a teacher.

Thing of the past, with minor anecdotal incidences being the exception.

I know that they made a brief comeback in the late 90’s when I was in middle school but I don’t think I’ve seen more than a few isolated incidents since then.

Then again, I know I saw some yo-yos at Toys R Us a few months ago so someone must still be buying them. (Maybe it’s just terribly uncool and clueless parents strapped for gift ideas.)

I do. 'Course, I’m not a kid.

don’t know if it’s cool, but they still hold nation and worldwide contests for it. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/World_Yo-Yo_Contest

Unless Wii has come out with an electronic version of the Yo Yo; then no, my kids do not play with Yo Yos.

I know several young kids who love their yo-yo’s, and a couple who have put a lot of time into learning great tricks. One little 7yo I know was in the church talent show with his.

However, I live in the town that hosts the National Yo-yo Contest and Museum, and so I probably see many more yo-yo enthusiasts than most folks do.

Kids love yo-yos still but they won’t buy them.

If a kid sees a yo-yo he won’t buy it but if you put a bunch of yo-yos in a classroom full of kids and give them away free, all the kids will take it and play with them

I remember the Duncan Yo-Yo commercials when I was a kid, there seemed to be a Yo-Yo season when the commercials would appear and then disappear like clockwork once a year.

I don’t know that they are widely sought out and requested, but my experience is that if you put kids in contact with them, they’ll play with them.