Do Multiple Personality patients use more of their brain than us

Assuming us “normals” use 10-20% of their brain, wuld MPD patients use more? They have to keep track of their memories, and which personality knows what, and what individual charactorisitics they have. Does each personality have a different, seperate memory bank, or does the “Gatekeeper” tell each one what they know?

I’m not a doctor, I don’t play one on TV but I pretend to be one to pick up chicks, so maybe my understanding isn’t complete. I always thought that we only used 10-20% of our brain at any given moment. Different ideas/activities stimulate different areas of the brain. So while we aren’t always using the whole brain we certainly end up using most of it.

Marc

well… if they had 3 personalities, and were in each one an equal amount of time, each would only have 1/3 of the memories of a normal person. They’re squeezing 3 people into 1 human lifespan, so each one would actually have less experience than 1 normal person. Hey, it could happen…

Hasn’t “multiple personality disorder” pretty much been dismissed as a lot of banana oil by now?

This is an urban myth; you use pretty much your entire brain. See Cecil’s comments here.

Eve is also correct in that “multiple personality disorder” is almost invariably the province of bad novelists, soap operas, and Hail Mary defenses in court. I do believe there are some well documented cases, but we’re talking about maybe a few dozen in the entire world, ever.

Not only do we use our whole brain, we are pretty good at reorganizing it if we need to.

[The following information is from an episode of Scientific American Frontiers with Alan Alda]

Researchers have realized that blind people convert the visual cortex area of the brain to other purposes. Particulary the sense of touch and to the reading of Braille. They demonstrate this by magnetically “stunning” the visual cortex of a blind man, and show that his ability to read Braille letters diminishes.