Do nationalized industries have a tendency to fail?

Hi. I’m a part-time student in college, and I haven’t yet taken world hist. or gov’t classes. As a result, I haven’t had a real incentive to pick up certain genres of books & read them.

I debate (haha maybe try to debate) politics on a gaming forum (another haha), but I was hoping some of you could help me out.

Basically, I’m a liberal, and I look at Canada’s socialized healthcare system & I think it wouldn’t be that dramatic if we made similar changes here. Keep in mind I know next to nothing about gov’t & world hist (at least at present).

I’ve heard ppl say that nationalized industries tend to fail. They cite problems such as difficulty in decreasing funding when demand is reduced and poor management among other things. Someone in the UK mentioned that the TELCO industry in the UK was nationalized & that it had problems, in addition to…

Hospitals, airports, car manufacturers, and the defense industry.

My question is… Are market forces really ESSENTIAL to keep these industries running efficiently? Were problems seen after nationalizing these industries in the UK due to mismanagement, or to the change in the role of the UK over the past 150 yrs (reduced colonialism I presume)?

Here is my hippie suggestion… Considering the prospect of increased prescription drug benefits for the elderly, would it be possible to nationalize the pharmaceutical industry? Would the U.S. gov’t see any real profit? Would shareholders get screwed? Could shareholders effectively become US bond holders? Should the U.S. gov’t get raped by pharmaceutical manufacturers after increasing the amount of drugs they by for the elderly? Would they get a reduced rate?

Thanks for any input.