Do you enjoy--or avoid--TV shows/movies about your profession?

I’m thinking mainly of shows and movies (current and older) about cops, doctors, lawyers, and teachers, since there are so darn many depictions of them in the media, but any profession will apply.
My cousin, a registered nurse, avoids any medical drama on TV because, as she puts it, “My whole life is a medical drama!”
I, on the other hand, watch Boston Public just to remind myself how fortunate I am to have college students, and how I don’t have to deal with their parents.
So how about it? Does The Practice appeal to you legal eagles? ER for the medical professionals? NYPD Blue for law enforcement?

Can anyone actually name a show about engineers? If not, I don’t think I can comment on this topic…

Since I cook for a living, people often think I watch Food TV whenever I have a chance.

Eh. I love to cook, I love food, and I love to eat, but watching it 24 hours a day is not my idea of fun. Granted, I do like to watch Good Eats and Iron Chef, but that’s about it.

Personally, I could leave the TV on the History Channel almost all the time.

The Simpsons? :slight_smile:

Homer’s more of a control room operator than an engineer.

Professor Frink’s smart enough to be an engineer.

As a librarian, (and a straight, male one to boot), the odds of me finding someone in film or TV portraying a character like me is pretty much zero.

I can’t imagine being interested in watching a movie about someone who sits staring at a computer screen, occasionally looks off into infinity as he thinks, and then starts typing at the keyboard. Repat in endless loop.

I am an attorney who typically avoids legally-oriented entertainment. However, I tend to gravitate toward legal questions on SDMB.

Herbert Anderson on
Dennis the Menace.
Brian Keith on Family Affair.
Bobby Sherman on Getting Together.
Dorian Harewood on Viper.

One dark day, I went to see “The Net”, in which Sandra Bullock is a computer programmer.