Do you ever worry that crazy customers are going to come back and get you?

Not like…literally murder you…I just sometimes get people that are so unhinged, I don’t know what else they’re going to do.

I work in the food industry- tiny business- we do store front and catering. Sometimes we don’t have enough of specific product for the store front, it has to go to catering. You would not believe how INFURIATED some people get when they don’t get what they want (we are in the dessert business which I think plays a part).

Today someone got incredibly angry and belligerent with me over a product we didn’t have and was carrying on about how I was providing such awful customer service, how I don’t do my job correctly, then he started accusing ME of being confrontational and was demanding to speak to “the manager” which is me, actually (although there is someone above me, he just wasn’t present), about how terrible I was- then he stormed out.

Normally crazy customers don’t get to me- especially ones on the phone, but I rarely have someone come into the store and be that enraged- it just left me feeling rather shaken- and I do sometimes worry that these people are going to come back to the store and continue their rampage.

That’s one of the reasons why people are able to get what they want when they throw temper tantrums in stores. The police or other protection ain’t going to get there in time. Most stores cannot afford to provide the kind of security or off-duty police presence required to keep the peace.