Do you get angry about waiting too long for things you've bought online?

I bought some fountain pen ink through a third-party retailer through Amazon.com late last Sunday (11/11). The order was marked as “shipped” on Amazon on Monday (11/12). I received the email from Amazon stating that my order had shipped on Monday as well, but in it, it said: “Ship Date: 11/13”

So, it apparently shipped Tuesday, USPS, and I haven’t received it.

Normally there would be no problem here, because I usually go for Amazon’s free “super saver” shipping (though that didn’t apply in this case), and with standard shipping otherwise. I don’t get bothered by something taking a week or a week and a half or two when I pick those options.

However, I planned to leave town this weekend for the next week. I’m a student and there are no classes here next week, so I was going to go home. Realizing this, I chose “expedited shipping” which gave me an estimated time of arrival from “1-3 days.”

The 1-3 day range from Monday, when my order was processed, is Tuesday-Thursday. The 1-3 day range from Tuesday, when my order was shipped, was Wednesday-today.

I can’t recall having something shipped expedited before, but it seems to me they’d take a little more care to have it there when they say they would, since the person having it shipped cares enough about it to pay extra.

It’s obviously not the end of the world, being a bottle of fountain pen ink, but I did pay the extra and it has thrown a bit of a wrench into my plans (even more if it doesn’t arrive tomorrow). The shipping information on USPS.com hasn’t updated since “carrier notified to pick up package” on Tuesday.