Do you know what an "ink blotter" is?

I was talking to my college-educated niece and mentioned in passing “an ink blotter.” She looked puzzled and asked me what I was talking about. It turned out she had never heard of them and when I explained what they were and described how they were used, she didn’t believe me, she thought I was making it up. So a couple of days ago, when I was out shopping, I asked the young clerk who was waiting on me if she knew what an ink blotter was. She said “I think I’ve heard of them, but I don’t really know what they are.” What about the younger Straight Dopers: are there any of you who don’t know what an ink blotter is? And for the older Straight Dopers, are there any other common items from your youth that the young of today probably don’t know about?

I’m a graphic designer, and I’m sure there are a lot of things I used to use 15 or so years ago that would be completely foreign to the younger designers I work with now. Rapidograph pens, adhesive wax, rub-down Letraset type, ruling tape, stat machines, etc.

Well, at 45, I certainly am aware of what an ink blotter is, though I’ve never used one.

But there are lots of things my kids wouldn’t know about until/unless I explained them. At a flea market a few weeks ago, my 7-year-old saw some 8-track tapes for sale and thought they were mini-video tapes. My 16-year-old is aware of the existence of LPs, but wouldn’t understand such terms as “platters” or “stacks of wax” that have been applied to same in the past. References to “knobs” on the TV always confuse them. Knobs? Who needs knobs when you’ve got buttons? What?

About a year ago, the same teenager found my original MP3 player, and had no clue what it was because. . .it had tiny little music discs! :stuck_out_tongue: