Do you know when you are Zoning Out?

As an adult with attention deficit disorder I have lived with zoning out and staring out the window for many years - I was medicated though highschool, college, and grad school then I stopped and opted for a more healthy way to control my attention span. For the most part it works, I am active, I try and eat well most of the time, I am not obese and I get a solid 8 hours of sleep a night.

Lately however, I have been sitting in my office getting back to some of my old tricks i.e. zoning out the window every few minutes and getting away from what I should be doing. I am an Environmental Psychologist and I work for an environmental advocacy conglomerate based in CT. Environmental psychology is basically the study of humans within their habitat and workplace. Basically, I help people design a more comfortable setting to work in and live in…I work with architects and landscape designers to make comfortable living and working conditions so people can lower their stress levels and concentrate on what makes them happiest, or their work…

Unfortunatly for me I have not been taking my own advice, I have two large 8’x12’ windows in my northerly facing office. I’m in a corner, so I have one directly infront of me, behind this monitor I am staring at, and one directly to my left…I look out over a woodland landscape, lot’s of douglas fir, oak, shagbark hickory and a small pond. There are two cardinals looking at me from atop a HUGE rhodadendron right now.

But the point of this OP is to see how many of you know when you are zoning out, and what do you do about it? Do you ever start a project at your job and then halfway through realize you are staring at a picture on your desk or out the window or at the fabric on the cube wall?

Or do you simply not have any of these problems? [lucky]