Do you like giving help/advice?

I do. It feels good to be useful.

I often ask questions on these here boards about PHP and ASP and other stuff. I probably don’t make it clear how much I appreciate that help (I try to)

I would love to be able to give help or advice but I just never get the chance to. Nobody asks questions on something about which I am an expert. As is the nature of the Dope anything I could be an ‘expert’ on is likely to have a better expert on these boards.

I hope that the people who give me help and advice do so because they like to give help and advice. I hope they don’t mind when I get pedantic about the answers they give. I don’t mean to.

Anyway -to the dope in general - do you like to give advice when people ask for it? or do you consider it a chore or an obligation?

When I get asked for computer help from relatives I tend to consider it a burden because more often than not there’s something unusual about the way they do things that makes explaining the problem or even working out a solution more difficult. And more often than not it’s over the phone. I often say “I could probably figure it out if I was there at your computer”

But If there was a question on the dope I could answer but didn’t want to I’d just ignore it. Nobody would know. It’s not like people here know me for being an expert on “X” or “Y” and they can say “Well soon Lobsang will come along to provide the answer, but until then here’s my WAG”. There are people here who are that person for me.

So what are your feelings on the whole help/advice giving aspect of the dope or the internet?

I do. I love telling other people what to think.

Actually, I look out for you. Not because I expect you to answer but just because I find your replies interesting and helpful.