Do you think WW2 Vets hated songs from 1966-1972

I’m wondering because, lets be honest, the music during 1966 and 1972 era was pretty damn good. The music during WW2 was popular for the times, but pretty boring. I’m a Gulf Vet and back when I first got out, I joined a VFW, and at the time there was still a lot of WW2 Vets who hung around. I respected the hell out of these guys but during the 90’s and 2000’s a lot of WW2 Vets just wanted to have somebody to talk to, probably due to their age. What were WW2 Vets like in the 60’s and 70’s?

I’ve had a few drinks, but I miss those guys.

I just want to point out that the question is a little broad: You’re asking about the musical tastes of 20 million people

As a Gulf vet, you are part of a select group.
But remember that, regarding WW2, everybody was a vet.

Although I was a kid at the time, I don’t remember music featuring a lot in the late 40s/early 50s. Big bands were pretty popular but it wasn’t until the late 50s that rock and roll began to filter over from the USA. This led to a flock of copycats which led directly to the music explosion that was the 60s.

This was not for “vets” though - it was the kids who had grown up with wartime shortages and rationing, who were now teenagers (a new term then) and looking for some excitement to relieve their otherwise pretty boring lives.

Moderator Action

Since this is asking for opinions, let’s move it to our opinion forum.

Moving thread from General Questions to In My Humble Opinion.

My Dad, a British WWII RAF veteran certainly hated all that dirty long hair pop music as much as my brother and I loved it. He was pretty typical of his age group.

It was a big part of the originalGeneration Gap.

I was a young kid in the late 60s and early 70s, but here’s how I remember it.