Doctors! Can you help me with a question?

Madonna’s baby is in intensive care, and I would like to know how the baby’s current problems (respiratory, liver and kidney), are related to abruptio placenta, which caused his premature birth via emergency C-section.
How much damage could be caused to the infant? How does oxygen deprivation affect the organs mentioned above? Will he recover fully? How likely is it that he has brain damage?

This is scary. I have so many questions, and I don’t know where to find the answers. What To Expect When You’re Expecting has a section on abruptio placenta, but it doesn’t mention the effect on the infant afterwards.

That links (or being pointed in the direction of a link, you don’t actually have to find the site for me), would be appreciated.

I’m not a doc, but I was an ICU nurse for years. The questions you’re asking have no hard-and-fast answers. Oxygen deprivation is usually the key variable: extent and duration. Was oxygen deprivation complete or partial, how long did it last, was there a period of partial oxygen deprivation followed by complete deprivation (or vice-versa)? Effects on organs often coincide with the extent of the oxygen deprivation. The brain is the organ most sensitive to insult, but other organs (heart, lungs, liver, kidneys) can suffer injury from hypoxia. Injury can range from transient dysfunction to organ failure. With premature infants, another complicating factor may be the maturity of the lungs, specifically the lungs’ ability to produce surfactant. Surfactant is a substance that keep the grape cluster-like air sacs from collapsing and sticking together. Insufficient surfactant production greatly increases the likelihood of respiratory complications, particularly Respiratory Distress Syndrome.
On the upside, infants are remarkably resilient, and a far better able to recover from injury/insult, particularly to the brain, than is an adult.