Does a flu shot give you a small case of the flu??

Ask most doctors or nurses if a flu shot contains a live flu virus that will make you sick and you will get a different answer… So my question is…does the shot give you a small case of flu to prevent the big case of flu or is it (like my doctor explained to me this year) a dead virus and can’t possibly make you sick or… does it depend on the strain of virus we happen to be battling that year? What’s the deal?

I’m the best there is fats…even if you beat me I’m still the best.
Paul Newman in The Hustler

RWAG (Rational? Wild-Ass Guess): It should be a “dead” virus, that could not cause illness, but would stimulate the immune system. If it were designed to give you a small case of the flu, I don’t know of any way they could guarantee that it would remain a small case rather than becoming full-blown flu.

As far as I understand, although i’ve no specific knowledge with regard to the 'flu virus, vaccines tend to incorporate a small part of the real virus, particularly part of it’s outer structure to enable the body’s immune system to recognise the true virus when necessary, and as such, cannot cause the associated disease. BTW, I consider it wrong to ever describe a virus as ‘living’.

Most virus vaccines produced are created by manipulating yeast organisms to produce proteins from the virus to be prevented. The immune system then is triggered by the same receptors that the real virus will present to them, and an advanced response to the pathogen will allow the body to eliminate infectious viruses before they become destructive. These viral proteins cannot cause the disease they are taken from, since they lack the replicative, and invasive viral mechanism.