Does having a Masters degree still impress employers?

Putting GPAs, previous work experience (or lack there of), where you attended school, and past achievements (awards, etc.) aside…does having a Masters alone impress employers when they look at a resume?

I’m talking about professional entry level job positions.

IMO it depends on the profession. As a hiring manager in software development a masters would not have made a difference to me - we would have preferred experience.

Sigh, I understand, that’s what’s kicking me in the ass, I have a master’s degree in education, but no work experience…related to education. I would like to apply to training or sales jobs.

And as a counter-example: a software developer looking for a near-entry-level position from me would get a substantial boost from a Master’s degree. I’d want demonstrated skill, too, but a graduate degree indicates that they’re able to learn, reason, and commit to a task over a relatively long period of time. And ideally, it would mean they’re able to write and explain things, too, although that’s more of a mixed bag.

Unfortunately for the Master’s-toting software engineers out there, I’m not in a hiring position at my current job.

Can I piggy-back on this question? I don’t know if I want to know the answer, but if anyone here works in a field where liberal arts majors can be hired (I know, haha, liberal arts majors are never hired!), is having an MA any kind of advantage? I’m assuming the answer is very different than in software design or engineering.

I had always planned to do a PhD or alternately become a librarian, but I’m completely burnt out and want to just get a job when I finish my thesis. So I didn’t go into a master’s program in Obscure and Irrelevant Studies ever thinking that it would lead to a job, but it would be nice if I could get a job paying more than minimum wage and not requiring a hairnet.