does nuclear power contribute to global warming?

I know it does not produce greenhouse gases, but it does produce energy (heat). Now doesnt this extra heat build up to some extrent in the atmosphere? It doesnt all radiate out, the greenhouse gases keep some in, so nuclear will still rise temperatures?

I cannot find much mention of this effect when I search on google, but I believe it is the case is it not?

The heat produced by a nuclear power-plant has to be so incredibly miniscule relative to the amount the sun itself bombards us with every minute of every day, that I can’t imagine it adding anything substantial to the global warming problem if anything at all.
I’m no expert, tho… Just wanted to get things started.

The heat produced directly from a power station is nothing, in relation to global warming. The point about the greenhouse effect is that more of the sun’s power is trapped within our athmosphere, rather than bouncing straight back into outer space, and in turn warming the oceans and melting ice caps.

There’s waste heat from both coal and nuclear stations, but this is meaningless when compared to the later effects of greenhouse gasses.

But most energy produced ends up as heat. Arent you forgetting that? Surely it would be significant?

Compared to the sun? Not really significant at all.

No, it’s not significant. Not when compared to the amount of energy the sun fires at us the whole time. Without an athmosphere, the earth would still be at -270c, like the moon. The athmosphere has created a balance, where the sun’s heat gets bounced around by various physics stuff you don’t want to bother with. Adding a whole load of CO2 to the athmosphere can upset the balance and make things change in a way we don’t want.

Yes but the atmosphere also stops a lot of the sun’s energy getting to us.