Does recording zoom meetings follow the same laws as recording telephone calls?

For instance, if I’m in a one-party consent state, and I record a zoom meeting, do I have to notify the other party? I know that as a courtesy I should but I’m talking about legalities.

You are not a lawyer. And if you are, you’re certainly not my lawyer. This isn’t legal advice. I should just give up.

I am not a lawyer either. What I can tell you is that I’ve been attending town planning board meetings by Zoom in New York State. These are legally public meetings and anyone can attend, which may or may not be relevant. And every time I join such a meeting I get a notice from Zoom saying that the meeting is being recorded and asking me whether I still want to join the meeting or would prefer to leave it.

I don’t know whether that notice is automatic for Zoom, or whether it’s something that’s set up by the person who organizes the meeting, who isn’t me.

I’m involved with a Zoom meeting of a club board, and the secretary records it. I believe there is a recording icon by her name in the participant list. That’s notification, but I’m not sure it would count as consent - though perhaps it could be implied consent since the icon tells everyone.
The first time we did it we did verbally tell everyone, though.

What happens if the recording starts after you join?
The meeting owner has to give permission for a meeting member to record, by the way. But I’ve never gotten the notification, though I wouldn’t since I’m the one starting the meeting.

Zoom kicked us off a couple of times and I think once I got the recording notice a minute or two after we re-started. I can’t remember what happened the time something went wrong with the recording process and we stopped talking for a couple of minutes while it got fixed, but didn’t exit the meeting – I think there might have been another warning but am not sure.