Does your body talk to you? Another Diet Thread

I’m on a weight upswing, and can’t stop it, but I’d like to avoid discussing all the things you do to lose weight, and try and stay on this topic:

When you eat, does your body tell you when you are done?
I’m convinced that there are signals, and I’m plowing right through them and eating until some other goal is reached.(stuffed, happy, satiated, etc)

Will my body tell me when I’m done eating? What are those signals?
Burping?
Being not-hungry?
Sirens in my ear?

Thanks

I just trust the serving size. I portion out the amount I know I’m supposed to eat, and then eat it. The amount I eat does fill me up, but for some reason it always takes a few minutes to register. Since that’s the case, I’ve had to depend on myself to know when to say when.

I’ve been doing Weight Watcher’s for about 6 months now and that’s been one of the hardest things to learn. What’s worked for me has been making sure I just have a reasonable portion of the food and then waiting a while before I decide to eat any more. I have satiety signals, they just work more slowly that some people’s seem to.

Also, there are particular foods that I can eat ridiculous amounts of before I feel full–mainly chips and fast food and such that I shouldn’t be eating anyway. I pretty much have to avoid them entirely right now.

Well, through dieting (and presumably ignoring hunger), you can certainly lose touch with your hunger signals. That makes it difficult to know when you are eating out of physical hunger or emotional hunger. You didn’t say whether or not you were a dieter, so for the purposes of this post, I’ll assume you have a history of dieting. If you have never known what hunger felt like, then it might be more complex and need to be addressed by a doctor.