Doper opinions sought re: Pay to Play

For those of you who don’t know, I’m a contractor. Most of my work is generated by Realtors, absentee landlords, and property managers. There are some standing commercial and residential accounts, but most of them come from word of mouth referrals.

The first Realtor with whom I built a business relationship was a real mensh. He regularly thanked me for getting his clients out of sticky spots, rescuing last minute closing issues, and the like. Yet it was tough to give him a freebie as a thank you. He’d send me to his MIL for some problem that turned out to be a 15 minute visit, so I’d let it go without billing anyone, in deference to the amount of revenue he was generating for me directly and via referrals. He’d conveniently ‘overpay’ my next invoice for a different job.

The flip side is the Realtor who gives me a few referrals and then asks for a “quote” on some work at their or a relative’s residence or property. After the proposal is delivered, they suddenly don’t want to pursue the project and never call again, giving me the distinct impression that they expected a freebie and were offended that I wasn’t willing to do a thousand dollars worth of work pro bono.

What do you folks think?

This is the way business ought to be done. A solid friendly relationship, where each party feels obliged to treat the other as a valued associate, and everybody feels that the other party’s “just a little nothing” is important. Your intent is to give him good work at a fair price; his is to give you a fair price for good work.

The opposite – punishing you for not giving them special treatment – is unethical. I wouldn’t work for people who expected freebies, because their intent is to get work at an unfair price, which can only hurt both of you.