Dopers who went to college without money from parents

I just want to know, how did you do it? Did you get a scholarship, a FAFSA grant, a student loan, or all of the above? How do you go about applying for schools? What did you make on your ACT/SAT/whatever? I’m especially curious about you “non-traditional” students who didn’t go for a few years after you graduated High School.

At least one inquiring mind wants to know.

I was a nontraditional student (okay, I was older) and paid for my entire college education by myself. To think that my parents would have helped out in any way, shape or form was laughable. Not only did I support myself, but also three kids as a single parent on top of it all. It took me about seven years to get my Bachelor’s degree going part time, except for the last two years. I worked part time (driving a school bus) as well. I have tons of school loan debt, which I wouldn’t recommend. However, I do have a degree, like my job and had a cool time living through it. That being said…

I have two daughters in college–one a junior, the other a freshman. BOTH of them are putting themselves through college, both financially and physically. They live in another city to attend college–one lives in the dorms and the other in her own apartment this year. They both got a few scholarships (around $1,000) when they were seniors in high school, but mainly they’re going the financial assistance route with state grants, college grants (your school has them, but usually you have to ASK about them) and school loans. I honestly do not provide financial support (other than helping them out with train fare home every now and then, or buying groceries or something minor). They both work (work study and sometimes another job on the side) and both go full time to school.