Dreamweaver or Frontpage: which do you prefer?

I’m going to buy one or the other. I’ve used Frontpage (older versions) quite a bit so I like the familiarity aspect, but I’ve heard Dreamweaver is better. (These are the only two choices as I can buy one of these titles at a severely discounted price through work.)

If you’ve used both and have a strong preference, I’d love to hear why you prefer one over the other.

Dreamweaver, but you really ought to learn to code with a text editor like homesite. :slight_smile: Frontpage was crap when I used it. I hear dreamweaver is great but I found the degree of handholding annoying. Still, many professionals use Dreamweaver; pretty much only hacks use Frontpage.

I’ve only used Frontpage, and I say YUK. That’s because I know better, but have not had the time, facilities, nor anything else, to learn to do anything different. What little knowledge I have had was devoted to making sure Frontpage didn’t screw things up.

I’m a professional who uses Dreamweaver. It’s the only way to go. Frontpage is garbage (and isn’t it free, anyway?)

no comparison. DW.

Dreamweaver is immensely better than Frontpage. But if you don’t want to shell out the bucks, agree that Homesite (which is more than just a text editor) is quite good.

Another vote for Dreamweaver, from someone who started with Notepad and a book on HTML back in the day. :slight_smile: DW comes with a text editor for getting up close and personal with the source text, when you need to do that.

I’ve dealt with FrontPage, and FrontPage tends to hide important details, like where it puts your files and how it names them and whether it’s resizing your images, in the effort to make things ‘easy’. It also by default makes pages that use Microsoft-proprietary features of Internet Explorer… which means that you have to do extra work to ensure that your pages are standards-compliant and accessible to everyone.