Drugs for "Social Anxiety Disorder"?

“If you’ve got Social Anxiety Disorder, ask your doctor to score you some ‘Paxil’…”

…or something like that, so the commercial goes. Couplathree (Texan for “a few”) things:

1. What is “social anxiety disorder”? Is this some new P.C. euphanism for “shyness”?

2. Back when I was an undergraduate, the sure-cure for “social anxiety disorder” was copious quantaties of alcohol, or some other combo of not-prescribed-by-your-doctor drugs. Does “Paxil” just loosen these SAD folks up as per a good dose of (name your drug here), but without the (select all that apply: euphoria / nausea / hallucinating)?

3. I don’t have the disorder, nor am I shy. What would “Paxil” do for me? to me?

yep just what we needed a personality in a pill…
backward? Dull? Scared of your on shadow? awkward? afraid of people? Take a Paxil and you’ll be singing like that guy on the geico commericial…
I’mmmm so happyyyy

I’m the best there is Fats…even if you beat me, I’m still the best.
Paul Newman in the Hustler

I didn’t get to see the “social anxiety disorder” commercial but somebody’s mother just started refusing to leave the house. She’s in her 70s. It is not a good thing. They checked it out with her doctor and have started to give her some short acting med that helps her overcome this anxiety about leaving the house.

I don’t see anything wrong with that.

On the other hand, a commercial with Harry’s 75 year old mother as the star might not sell too many pills or show how the need exists or might manifest itself.

Properly used a short term (What’s the term used for bombing? Surgical strike???) med could make all the difference in world to someone who otherwise might not be able to leave home.

“Ooooooo, let’s all make fun of depressed people now!”

How fun!