Dual Monitor suggestions?

I’ve just joined the club guys. It’s mind-blowing thing. I’ve got TWO monitors!

I’ve sort of felt the need since I started programming and I can see how this will be a huge help. But I need some advice…

How do you use them?

I’ve been using computers for YEARS now and I’ve always had one monitor. I have never used virtual desktops either. So I don’t exactly grasp what I’m supposed to be doing with it.

So maybe you guys can share your dual monitor tips? Here’s some of my observations I’ve noticed so far.

A lot of times I’ll forget that I have it. Just for clarity’s sake, I’m using a 17’ iMac and a 17 inch dell monitor side by side. The Dell is 4:3 and the iMac is widescreen. So it’s not quite perfect, but it should be very close.

I tried to get the color matched up as perfectly as possible, but that’s kind of difficult. I’m told that it’s hard to do this even with two monitors that came off the assembly line next to each other.

I have noticed one tactic that I like so far. I am working on animation for this game, and it obviously involves working with a lot of images. I’m applying the same process to a lot of images, so it’s tedious, but I learned that it’s easier to just load all of the images into the other monitor and have them tiled over there while I work with the one on the left that I’m interested in at the moment. Ordinarily I’d open the files individually because it’s too much clutter.

And that’s really all I’ve been able to do so far. I haven’t found any other tactic that helps out so much yet, but again, I haven’t done any coding with it yet.

Before when I ran VMWare though, I would use Unity mode which lets you treat the windows apps as if they were individual mac apps. But I can imagine that I’ll probably run it full screen on my other monitor now.

Anyone have their tips on how to take advantage of two monitors?

I use three myself.

[/nasty impulse to default the newly-enthusiastic dual-monitor dude]