Early Baldness?

Hi, I’m only 15 but my hair is already somewhat thin in the front; noticeably enough thin that people have commented quite a number of times. I was hoping there was ‘foul play’ afoot, but we went to the dermatologist, and she concluded that it was natural going-baldness. I was a bit shocked, I suppose. I’m still not totally sure if I believe, as I do have a number of small scab-like red things on my scalp from time to time. Is it really possible to be going bald at such a young age? It has a strong effect on my self-confidence and is something that is on my mind a lot. If so, is it likely that a ‘cure’ for baldness is forthcoming in the near future? Thanks.

I am not a doctor, but I started going bald at 19. I shave my head to deal with it (like a condemned man committing suicide), but there are other options. Rogaine, for example.
And I wouldn’t say that Andre Agassi, Ben Kingsley, Yul Brynner, and Cal Ripken, jr. lack confidence. Neither should you.

Sadly, it is possible and is likely standard Male-Pattern-Baldness. Especially if your dermatologist said it wasn’t anything else.

But you’re also good to get a second opinion. The good news is, (if you can call it that), that since you caught it early there are treatments available to slow progression dramatically and in some cases reverse it.

You have options of topical treatment or internal. There are tons of “topicals” out there, that you should be wary of. Since a lot are considered snake-oil and they’re very expensive. The only effective treatments presently are those that target the amount of DHT in your body.

Rogaine and Propecia are the only truly effective treatments of MPB and the results they provide vary widely with a range of side-effects.

Since you’re only 15, and Propecia and its bigger brother, Dutasteride seriously screw with your hormones its probably not advised.