eBay sleazily slips in a substantial fee increase with almost no public notice

I have almost 1000 sales on eBay and never got wind of this. The main listing fee is set to the initial listing price, and (NOW) will not change even if the seller lowers the price. I adjust initial prices downward constantly when items don’t sell. This could cost sellers a good chunk of change.

EBAY’S CLEVER FEE INCREASE PLAN

Interesting, so before this change if I listed my wiget on ebay at a starting price of $500 and it gets no bids and the auction is ending very soon, could I have put in a last second price decrease (think reverse sniping), say to $5 and avoid the high listing fee?

I’ve been selling on eBay since 1998, and this new policy isn’t an issue for me. I’ve never lowered my starting bid price mid-auction ever. I always start my auctions at the lowest acceptable price.

Lowering the initial bid price and getting a fee rebate seems like fee avoidance to me, no better than a guy who sells something at a $5.00 “Buy it Now” and then charges $40 for shipping. YMMV.

For items that can have largely variable prices I’m not really grasping your point. If I list of pair of near new dress shoes I think are the bomb @ 49.95 then rapidly discover via lack of interest that none one else thinks they're worth that, and reduce my initial asking price to 34.95, how is that fee avoidance? The price is being lowered to reflect market realities. To charge me for a 50.00 listing free if I drop the price to 35 in the first day or so hardly seems appropriate.

Why not just start them at 34.95 to begin with then? Or use a research tool like Andale or similar to find out what people are paying for the same / similar items, and pricing it accordingly?

Seriously, this fee change is going to whack a few honest sellers like you, but it’s going to hit a lot more of the jerks who manipulate pricing in the way **kanicbird **pointed out.