Economics or Finance Major?

I am a 27 year old undergrad student who still doesn’t know what to major in! I have it narrowed down to Economics or Finance. I am declared an Econ major (Business Administration concentration), but I believe that Finance (concentration in Commercial Bank Mgmt and Financial Institutions) may be more attractive to employers. I am a Junior, so this decision must be made before I register for classes next week. I do have the option of minoring in Economics, which I plan to do if I major in Finance.

Are there any Economics or Finance majors out there who can offer personal experiences with employment or general advice?
A concern with Economics I have is that this major is perceived as a degree leading to graduate studies. It took me a long time to decide on Economics and now I am having second thoughts. At my age, I suppose I should pick one at random and get the heck out!

Econ is more theory, and finance is more practice. I would view them as more or less interchangeable, but I also don’t look at candidates for business-oriented positions.

If I were in your boat, I’d probably choose the finance major with the minor in econ, just cause that would allow me to study both subjects–as closely related as they are, that has to lead to new insights.

Do you have the option of majoring in econ and minoring in finance?

My qualification is a Bachelor of Commerce from the University of New South Wales with a double major in Economics and Finance.

In short, what do you want to do with it? My economics subjects qualified me pretty exclusively for a career in either analysis, financial modelling or academia. My financial subjects qualified me for all sorts of things that relied on me having job experience and contacts that I didn’t have - oh, or financial analysis.