Educate me on frozen pipes and the management thereof

I’m relatively new to this home ownership thing. And the home in question is an area currently dealing with the very cold weather that’s all over the news. The water to my 2 bathrooms and kitchen is still flowing but the pipe to my utility room is apparently frozen as I discovered when I tried to do laundry today. The temperature outside isn’t projected to get above freezing for the next week.

Is it likely that I can thaw the frozen pipe while the outside temp remains so low? My house does not have a basement or crawlspace to allow easy access to pipes. I’ve placed a space heater in the utility room but I don’t know how much good that’s doing at this point.

I’m aware that frozen pipes can crack. Once the pipe has thawed what do I do to make sure there’s no damage in places where I can’t see it? Hire a plumber for some sort of inspection? Wait and see if water starts soaking though the wall?

I’m also in Missouri, and I don’t know either. Yesterday I spent a while under my house trying to thaw a pipe (that I had believed I had left trickling), before giving up because I don’t know where the frozen part is. I figure I’ll find out the hard way how bad the damage is. :frowning:

Be aware of which pipes in your house are routed through exterior and interior walls, the ones through interior walls are far less likely to freeze. At night when it’s coldest I’ll keep a pair of sink traps in each room dripping very slowly if I fear they’ll freeze. I usually do this in a tub where I can place a bucket so I can at least use some of that water later to flush a toilet.

Do you have a leak? Look at your water meter. If everything that uses water is shut down the meter shouldn’t be moving. Take note of the meter reading and come back in a half an hour or so and assuming no one flushed a toilet or something the meter reading shouldn’t have changed.