Educational Methods Used On You, Which Would Not Fly Today

I was a good academic student and did well across the board. The students at our public high school were smart and most took “advanced” courses. A few took “enriched”. Some took “general” courses. There were also technical courses such as carpentry, auto mechanics or electronics. I was a bit of an outlier since I was more academic but also chose courses like electronics and auto mechanics.

Our electronics teacher once told the class it was foolish to be scared of electricity. He had a device that gave you an electric shock. He had everyone in the class hold hands and form a chain and zapped them with electricity to see who would be the first and last to let go and break the chain. Kind of like livewire musical chairs. The sensation was odd, even shocking.

At the time, it seemed fun. But looking back at this years later, I’m not so sure this sort of thing would be encouraged. I have no idea whether the voltage was consistent with mains, but am pretty certain that this would now be discouraged for liability reasons, like the three story climber at my first school which was also awesome at the time.

Did you have a teacher who used a weird demonstration, or your school use equipment or teaching methods that would not fly today?

Consistent with the mains? Why, this little fellow

can generate tens or hundreds of thousands of volts, easily.

Ninth grade (school year 1968-69) general science, and the associated science fair. One project was distilling a fermented fruit drink to a very high proof. The teacher had a small amount of the final product and an eye dropper. Anyone who wanted could get a few drops squirted into their mouth.

I did. It was nasty tasting and it burned a bit. And I can’t imagine a teacher doing that today. In fact, I expect a still would not be allowed in a science fair.

He was a really good teacher, and I learned lots in his class.