Elderly Indian couple suing son and daughter-in-law for $675,000 US unless they produce a child within a year

I’ve heard of baby pressure from your parents; even as a guy who’s chronically single, I’m not immune to it myself, but Jesus:

“Entitled mutterfickers, aren’t you?”

Stranger

There’s gotta’ be a way to settle this one out of court. I’m thinking the kids should offer ten grand and a chocolate Labrador retriever.

What did the poor dog do to deserve that? They’ll probably start demanding puppies.

Those kids are lucky that “Poor Impulse Control Potential Grandpa” didn’t buy a foundling, and leave it on their doorstep with a note. Very Dickensian…

Meet ‘em halfway by giving ‘em a used condom?

Anybody can file a suit against anybody else about anything. I’m not a lawyer, but I predict that the court will reject this suit, and admonish the attorney for the plaintiffs for wasting everybody’s time.

You are predicting something that is already contradicted by the article in the OP, at least in terms of the court rejecting it out of hand.

The court accepted their petition and scheduled it for a hearing on Monday

But of course I have no idea about the Indian system - maybe all you need to do to get a hearing is to submit the correct form. I’m certainly curious about the legal basis for the suit.

This is in India, not the US. It wouldn’t surprise me if the court sides with the parents.

I wonder if they will live stream the hearing tomorrow? The news story is everywhere, I bet they’d get a massive audience.

While this would be terrible in real life, it’d make a great movie plot.

Mea culpa. I did not read the article before writing. Now that I know the suit was filed in India, all bets are off. I know nothing about their legal system nor social customs.

That’s how I feel about real life.