electronics experts: what component am I looking for?

I’m a mechanical engineer by trade, but I’ve fiddled with electronics just a little bit in the past. I need some advice for an electronics project I’m working on.

I have a 24 Vdc power supply for a project, and I need to power a set of small fans with it (total draw 0.1 amps).

From a pot, I have a control voltage that I can vary from 0-10 Vdc.

When I select a pot output voltage below 1.5 volts, I want the fans to be off; for 1.5 volts and higher, I want the fans to be on.

My 10-volt source for the control pot can’t provide much current, a few mA at best.

Question: what component do I need for closing/opening the connection between the fans and the power supply?

Sounds like a job for a relay, but any relay I’ve found so far (solid state or otherwise) that is closed when there’s 1.5 volts on the trigger will be damaged (or will draw too much current from my pot supply) when the full 10 volts gets applied. I’ve looked at op-amps and comparators, but it seems like the ones I’ve found (at least while searching on Digikey) all can’t pass enough current to power the fans.

So what do I need to make this work?

Is the power to the fans independent of the pot voltage?

You do this with a comparator, voltage divider (or voltage reference) and transistor (to drive the relay, or control the fans directly).

Look for a simple circuit using a CMOS op-amp wired as a comparator. One input of the amp is used to set the comparison voltage, the other is used to monitor the voltage you want to control fan operation, and the output (though a transistor or very light-duty relay) is used to switch the fans on and off. You can use almost any op-amp from the venerable 741 up, but a CMOS variant will draw very little operational current.