Ellie May Goes to the Big City

I am not a hayseed. Not really. I mean, I’ve lived in Manhattan, been in most major cities in Europe, and lived in downtown Chicago two years ago. I have a degree from a Big Ten university. So I did escape the farm. More or less.

However, I find that having been raised on a farm still colors my point of view in some ways. I guess it’s true what they say: You can take the girl off the farm, but you’ll never get the damned hog manure smell off of those hip boots.

Here are a few of my recent ruminations about living in urban areas.

First of all, the train RULES.

When I was a kid, my parents had to drive us hundreds of miles to some “kiddy land” or other so that we could beg them ceaselessly during the entire trip, “Please…Pllllleeeease let us ride the train. Can we ride it? Huh? Can we? Now can we?” When we went to the zoo we made them shell out extra $$$ so that we could take the ALWAYS exciting train trip around the park.

Now I ride the train from the 'burbs to get to my job every day. And every day it’s fun! I like to sit by the window. Everyone else is talking on their phones, or reading, or complaining. I guess they aren’t that excited to be on a train. I can’t figure out why!

For only a dollar, you can take the train almost anywhere. I don’t even have to beg anyone’s permission now…I can just hop on and go. It’s like an amusement park ride every day. I feel sorry for people who don’t get to ride the train.

Secondly, pigeons are cool, do you hear me? Cool! They make that sweet little sound and they will almost come right up to you and eat out of your hands. Yesterday, I found out that pigeons do not like beef jerky. They don’t know what they’re missing.

My next observation is this: I used to have to mow my lawn for six hours on a riding tracor lawn mower. Now I use a pushy thing and do it in 30 minutes. I like to mow, so I think this is very sad. Where the hell are you supposed to plant a vegetable garden around here?