Email/Mail/Phone Calls - best order to use when marketing?

Hi, I sell a service that lets guests to an event call a toll-free number and leave stories and well wishes for the guest of honor.

Those stories are then provided on a keepsake CD. I market the service to wedding and event planners who then make their clients aware of it.

I’m starting by marketing to bridal consultants. I have a list that enables me to call them, email them, and send them postal mail.

I’m new to selling, and am wondering what order would be most effective in marketing. If I email, I have software that tells me when they open the email (it’s not 100% accurate if people don’t download images) and what I’ve been doing is sending them an email, and then shortly after they open it I give them a call, guage their interest and then follow-up by email with some literature (4x6 flyers they can give their clients).

Is this the right strategy? If you were me would you do that in a different order?

Do you have their permission to email them? If not, this sounds like spamming to me. Directed spamming (is there such a thing?) of course, but the image thing is used by spammers worldwide to gather names for their infernal lists.

I would stick with a direct mail piece, with a website that they could respond through if they were interested. Then email the responders. You need to be very careful when it comes to email marketing.

Well, I have their contact information because I’m a corporate member of a professional wedding planner association, I’m contacting wedding planners that are also members, and getting their contact information is one of the benefits of paying to be a corporate member.

The only reason that I’m able to see if they open the emails is that I’m using contact management software called SugarCRM. From what I understand, although spammers use the technique nefariously, getting statistics on who actually opens your emails is a common practice in professional email campaigns.