[Enlisting in] the Air Force after just graduating

What would life be like for a college graduate that just graduated with his BA in Accounting and then decided to enlist in the Air Force? I’ve heard all kinds of various information, thus my decision to turn here. Just because my degree is in accounting, does that mean I’ll get to use it or will my MOS be determined by the ASVAB score and their needs? Before I turn to a recruiter, thank you for helping me answer these questions.

*It should have read enlisting…I’m sorry for the typo.

Is there any particular reason why you wouldn’t want to be an officer instead? (Not that there would be a problem with enlisting; lots of college grads enlist for one reason or another.)

Pretty much the same as everyone else’s, with the exception of maybe some minor perks of being automatically promoted to E-3 (A1C) after Basic Training because of your college credits.

No, you won’t necessarily get to use it. It may help you get into a certain career field, but as you guessed, the Air Force’s needs come first. I knew plenty of college graduates that enlisted into different career fields.

MOS is Army and Marine lingo. The Air Force equivelant is AFSC “Air Force Specialty Code.”

You can enlist with what they call a “guaranteed contract.” That is, you take the ASVAB, you select a job that your score qualifies you for (in your case, it looks like there’s a few 6F career fields for accounting/finance), and you’re guaranteed to be placed into that school upon completing basic. If you do your 7 weeks and they decide they don’t really have any openings in that career field, you’re allowed to bail.

Most people do this. The alternative is to come in open general, which means they pick something for you after basic, and yes, they’ll ignore your BA and make you a cop or something.