"Esquire" claiming to be an attorney?

Sometimes, just for giggles, I will append “Esq.” on my name. I was recently called to task and all but threatened with legal action by an attorney who lives somewhere in the Deep South. He claimed that my use of “Esq.” was essentially illegally claiming that I was an attorney at law, admitted before the Bar.

I’d never heard this before. Is this a load of ballocks?

Depends. How did you use it? What kind of letter was it? Were you corresponding with an attorney, threatening legal action? We’d have to know more about the specifics of the situation, but unless the situation was such that your use was intended or seemed intended to imply that you were practicing law, it’s probably just hot air. Attorneys use “esq.”, but they/we don’t have a monopoly on the practice, as evidenced by that preeminent legal journal, Esquire magazine.

Staff report on Esquire

Tell you attorney friend that he needs to get a sense of humor, and, oh yeah, that he’s wrong. In America these days, people that put “Esq.” after their names are usually thought to be referring to themselves as attorneys, but “Esquire” is actually derived from a term of honor describing an English gentry just below a knight. From Webster’s Revised Unabridged Dictionary (via dictionary.com):

Incidentally, because “esquire” is considered a term of honor, it’s usually considered bad form to refer to yourself as “Joe Blow, Esquire.” You append “Esq.” to the end of someone else’s name, but never to the end of your own name. That would be like referring to yourself as “Joe Blow, Better-than-you.”

Of course, since it’s apparently done with tongue planted firmly in cheek, then I say, have a ball.

The courtesy title Esquire does not necessarily imply that the holder is a lawyer:

Webster’s Secretarial Handbook 215 (2d ed. 1983).

And now that I’ve opened pravnik, Esq.'s link, I see that I’ve just repeated what’s already been made apparent.