Establishing alpha status with your dog: two questions

First question:
In many threads on the SDMB which have touched upon the status of dogs in the family “pack”, several Dopers have stated that they establish alpha status with regard to their dogs by making their higher rank very clear. An example often cited is that the owner always walks first through a door, into a room etc. to indicate their leadership.

Now, when we got Bea the Wonder Schnauzer, the breeder and I had some talks with regards to training. She said that the way to establish status is give clear orders and make the dog wait for your command. This is what I have been doing for the past six years now. For example, when we come back from a walk, I make Bea sit and wait in front of the door before I tell her “You can go”. (Likewise, when I put food down for her, I make her wait for my command to be allowed to eat.) It’s seemed to work out pretty well.

These two seem to be just different methods of driving home the same point: I have a status higher than my dog’s. But is one method more “natural” to her than another? Have I been teaching Bea the wrong things these years? Should I have been going through doors first? I’m hoping to have another dog some day, since Bea lives with my parents now that I’ve moved out. I want to make sure that I train her right when the time comes.

Second question: