/etc/skel/.cshrc and security

I’m writing a BBS client and server on my Linux box (RedHat 7.2), and I’ve put this .cshrc file in /etc/skel:

/path/to/chat/client
exit

the idea being to automatically start the program when the user logs in, and automatically log them off when they exit the program. My question is, is this a major security flaw? Is it so easy to circumvent that any script kiddie with a brain stem can wreak havoc on my system? Needless to say, I’m not a security guru, so any relevant input is much appreciated.

I’m no expert either, but I think it may be more secure to specify the BBS client as the login shell in /etc/passwd. That way the chat client will not be running on top of an interactive shell.

Depends on the chat client. Several of them let you break out into a shell. There are other tricks you could do too, like downloading something new via DCC to your .bashrc file that lets you execute whatever commands you like.

I second this recommendation. You might also want to remove pretty much everything else from /etc/shells and double check to make sure there aren’t any security advisories out on whatever chat client you’re using. If you can run it in a chroot jail as well, then all the better.

Maybe I didn’t make myself entirely clear, or perhaps I don’t understand where you’re coming from - you warn me about the dangers of some clients being able to break out into the shell, or DCC into the dot files, and tell me I should check for security advisories. Are you talking about the BBS client I’m writing from scratch? If so, how does this apply? If not, what ARE you talking about?

In any case, I appreciate the info. I hadn’t considered making it the default shell, it seems like a good idea. TeleTronOne, if I took everything else out of /etc/shells, wouldn’t that interfere with root logging in? Or does it not work that way?