Ever eaten a beef or turkey commercial?

I was talking to a friend the other day, and Thanksgiving was right around the corner. I was eagerly anticipating having a turkey commercial.

He had no clue as to what I was talking about. Asked him about a beef commercial. Still no clue. I thought he was pulling my leg. I went to Google it, and only six hits came up for beef commercial.

Does anyone have an idea of what I mean, have you ever had one, and where are you from?

I have some vague trivia quiz knowledge that it’s an open faced hot sandwich covered in gravy…maybe with mashed potatoes on top? But I’ve never had one, made one or seen one by that name on a menu. Chicago, IL, USA.

A commercial? WTH.

Every time I think I’ve learned all my vocabulary words, something comes along to humble me.

Not even a clue what it meant. I thought your subject was typoed or something even. :smiley:

Never heard of it. Have lived in Pennsylvania, New York, and Illinois.

Never heard of it, and neither has Merriam-Webster or Wiki. Upon Googling, it appears to be a Minnesota-specific name for a hot sandwich.

Never heard of it.

Lived in Nor Cal my whole life.

not a clue. Tennessee.

It’s a hot sandwich.

White bread, shredded or sliced beef/turkey/pork layered on, sliced white bread on top, cut in half on the diagonal.Mashed potatoes in the middle of diagonal. Gravy over all. Usually green beans on the side.

Starches, with starches on top with a side of mashed starches. It’s comfort food, and occasionally perfect, like after you’ve been ice fishing all day.

However, the thing that absolutely threw me for a loop, was NO ONE HAS EVER HEARD OF IT.

It’s like if you were talking about a new Porsche, or Oprah, or dolphins, and no-one had a clue as to what those things were.

I feel like I’m in the twilight zone.

But according to snopes, I am in the middle of the fifty mile radius of the only place where they are called that. Crazy.