Ever had a boss who held prayer in team meetings?

Recently I happened to see an old boss of mine back when I was a relay operator. He was looking for a job, but, happily, not with the company I work for now. I say happily because, though I like “Malcolm” and think he’s in most ways qualified to be a team leader in my current firm, I’d still have had a problem hiring him. You see, back when we worked together, Malcolm would regularly lead his employees in prayer during team meetings. When I was his employee I tolerated this in the interests of not needlessly rocking the boat, but if he were applying for a job as a manager under me I’d feel obliged to make clear that he was NOT to do that here. I don’t think it’s possible for a manager to even say grace at a team meal (much less lead a more formal prayer) without it being coercive to all his or her reports, and possibly offensive to many of them.

Which brings me to the thread question. Have you ever worked for or under someone who led any sort of prayer–grace or otherwise–at work functions? If so, how’d you handle it?

Yes, and I spoke up about it. Not on my own behalf, but as a manager I felt it was my responsibility to my own staff. He insisted that his prayers all came from a book of non-denominational prayers so it was “OK.”

I explained. He stopped. He made it clear that his failure to save their souls would be on my head come judgement day. I promised to stand up and take the rap for it.

:rolleyes:

On an entirely unrelated note: When you read your screen name to yourself, do you pronounce the C as a K or an S?

Missed the edit window:

Conversations occurred quietly and privately, not at the immediate function. At the function I just sat quietly with my hands folded, eyes open, making it clear that that was an acceptable response. I saw two people look annoyed/shocked, and let them know afterward that I would address the problem.