Excel gurus - a question about making letters represent numbers

If the thread title seems a little opaque, things should be clearer after i explain.

First, let me say that i’m no Excel expert. I barely ever use it. But one thing i do use it for is to make a spreadsheet of my students’ grades. I have the students’ names in one column, then i assign a column for each assignment, and a final column that takes all the assignments and calculates a final grade.

I grade using the letter system (A, B, C, etc.), and when i put the students’ grades into the spreadsheet i do it using the GPA equivalent. So, if the student got an A, i put in 4; if they got a B, i put in 3, etc.

What i was wondering is if there’s a way to assign each letter a numerical value, so i can just input the letter and have Excel automatically assign a numerical value to it for calculation purposes.

My idea is that there would be somewhere i could type something like…

Let A = 4
Let A- = 3.7
Let B+ = 3.3, etc., etc.

…and have the program use that guide when assigning values to letter grades.

Is this even possible, or do i have to stick with inputting numbers?

I’m not an Excel expert either, but you can start with this formula and play around with it:

suppose Cell B1 will depend on the value of A1

A1 contains       B1 will be
   A                   4
   A-                  3.5
 anything else         3

your function would be
=IF(A1=“A”;4;IF(A1=“A-”;3.5;3))

The best way I know to go about this is using the LOOKUP function. Basically, you have two columns: the first contains the values you want to look up (letter grades in this case) and the second contains the values you want to return (GPA here). You pass in a value from the first column, and LOOKUP returns the corresponding value from the second.

Lookup/VLookup are your answer here I think, though you could go with the previously mentioned IF statement route.

You could use a lookup table like this:

A      B
1 A      4
2 A-     3.7