Experience with steroid shots for arthritic joints?

Anybody had this done? What sort of relief or success did you have? I’m considering asking the doc to do this, as I have several finger joints that cause me a lot of pain. Since I like woodworking and am taking up the guitar, this significantly limits me. During my last week-long woodworking class, I was taking Aleve every day, but continued use of NSAIDS is not a good solution, and it only provides partial relief from the pain/inflammation. At this point, the basal joints of my thumbs ache and the end joint on my right hand ring finger is so painful and swollen that it hurts to even type. Comments welcome.

I’m not a doctor, but I’m a frequent patient. :slight_smile:

I haven’t done it for arthritic joints, but I have had a handful of steroid shots. I had some bad tendinitis in my foot, and the shots were like little miracles. I had radial tunnel syndrome in my right arm, and had a steroid shot for that. It didn’t help as much, but I was warned in advance that it might not.

The shot itself didn’t hurt at all. If it’s something the doctor does often, he should be good at it. My podiatrist actually used an ultrasound to help him place the needle.
I did discuss the NSAID issue with my GP. He was perfectly happy to give me Mobic, as long as I was having certain blood work done every three months to make sure I was tolerating it well. Since I see him every 3-6 months to check my blood sugar, it was easy for me. Six months ago, he suggested I start taking Prilosec with the Mobic to help protect against ulcers.

I’d expect the shot to provide temporary relief, but not to solve resolve arthritis. It’s great at breaking a cycle of rubbing/inflammation/pain.