Explain the controversy about mark-to-market accounting.

The Dave Ramsey, Brian Wesbury, and Newt Gingrich plans for economic-crisis relief each involved repealing the mark-to-market provision of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act.

Steve Forbes, on CNN, just suggested that marking to market “artificially lowers” the numbers on a company’s balance sheet.

Can someone explain why this is a popular measure, and how marking to market is an artificial hit?

Be gentle. I have no accounting background.

For background, check out Wikipedia on mark-to-market accounting.

I may be off base, but it seems their resistance is due to the fact that having to value a particular asset at a time when volatility in the market or other factors has driven the price of an asset artificially low is an inaccurate representation of the asset’s value. This can make the periodic financial statements of the company look worse than they should.

I suppose the converse would also be true, that in “bubble” situations the value of the asset would be overstated, making the company’s financial statements look better. I’m not an accountant, so I’m not sure what type of valuation was used before mark-to-market, but I would think placing a value at a particular point in time on certain types of assets would be problematic no matter what valuation method you used.

One alternative to mark to market in the past was acquisition price. You can see why that would leave an asset overvalued when, say, the asset is a CMO for which the market has now evaporated.

Another technique is when the company just makes a ballpark estimate of what a particularly exotic or illiquid asset is worth. What is the market value, for instance, of the future revenue stream from Rod Stewart’s publishing royalties (something a hedge fund might well have bought)?