Explain what two high-level math subjects are to a non-math major

What are non-linear PDEs? And what is topology? And what are either used for?
I know PDEs are partial differential equations, but I haven’t the slightest idea what that actually means.
Since its probably important to the level of any explanation, the highest math I’ve taken is pre-calculus in high school, but that was a couple years ago and I don’t remember much of it.

I’m not an expert on either of these topics, but I’ve taken a class on partial differential equations and I’ve done some reading on topology.

I’d suggest this article in the wikipedia for background on topology.

From the article

Topology is sometimes jokingly referred to as “rubbert sheet geometry” because it is concerned not with size or shape of a geometrical object (2 or 3 or even more dimensions) but about the properties that are independent of precise size (aka “metrics”). So, a donut and a coffee mug (with a handle) are topologically equivalent solids: each one is a three dimensional object with a single hole in it.

What is it used for, well, one branch of topology, graph theory, is used extensively in the design of computer networks. Graph theory studies points (nodes) and segments connecting those nodes. As noted with the Konigsberg bridge problem above, topology looks at the properties that do not depend on the size of the segments connecting the nodes. This is a ridiculously brief introduction but it will, I hope, give you some flavor for what topology is about.