Exploding bladder?

I’m a high school teacher, and one of my kids was begging to go to the bathroom. I told him no (for a variety of reasons I won’t bore you with now), and he insisted that if he didn’t go his bladder could burst. Well, it didn’t, but it left me wondering…is that even a possibility? I would imagine your body would involuntarily expell any waste if it got THAT full, but could you hold ‘it’ in so tightly that something would rupture(by ‘it’, since we’re all adults here, I mean #1 and #2, not to get too technical on you)? Are there any benefits if you hold ‘it’ in (say, strengthining of muscles?) Any other problems associated with holding ‘it’ in.

I think that it is mean (and boarder line abusive) to not let someone go the bathroom when they need to go. What if he did “involuntarily expell” his waste? I am sure that he should have gone before class or maybe you thought he could wait 10 minutes but there are times when you just can’t do that. When you have to go sometimes you really have to go.

I have never heard of a bladder exploding. Holding it too much can cause kidney and bladder infections.

I didn’t go into details about his request, but I can assure you it wasn’t abuse. The kid wanted to run around and play in the hallways, but it still left me wondering about the possibility of bladder explosion.

I will take your word on that JAPrufrock. But, I can’t help but remember a highschool teacher refusing to allow me go to the bathroom after I finished with a exam because it might disrupt the other students. I knew that I couldn’t wait another 10 minutes much less the 30 he wanted me too. I went anyway and got detension. For having to pee!

Sometimes I let things that happened to me color how I see other events. I guess we all do that though?

Full bladder combined with trauma could rupture the bladder more easily than an empty bladder. Hence my grandfather’s admonition before taking us for a ride in the car: “Everybody use the bathroom!”