F L Wright's Mile-High Skyscraper

I just read a book by Wright, which contained the plans and drawings of one of his never-built designs-it was for a skyscraper to be 5,450 ft. high! My question to the architects and civil engineers-is this design feasible? Do we have steel beams strong enough to make this possible? I’d love to have an office on the 500th floor!
Did Wright ever try to sell this concept to a developer?

I’ll bet you wouldn’t love it so much if the elevators broke. :slight_smile:

“I had a feeling that in Hell there would be mushrooms.” -The Secret of Monkey Island

I’m not an engineer, so I can only attempt to answer your last question.

I think the skyscraper was part of an F.L. Wright project called “Usonia”, a kind of utopian city. I don’t think it was ever seriously considered that the project would ever see reality, but was viewed more as a concept of what could be.

La franchise ne consiste pas à dire tout ce que l’on pense, mais à penser tout ce que l’on dit.
H. de Livry

I think that the highest building now is still under 2000 ft, so I would belive that a mile high building would be nearly impossible with today’s technology. Wind would be a big factor with this building, it would have to be very flexible, and be able to withstand the inevitable earthquake. (Hey, if Toledo can get one, then so can Chicago, NY, Detroit…) I think that the futuristic mile high cities (i.e. Judge Dred type) are too massive and too expensive to make to be created for the next 100 years.

“I’m not dumb. I just have a command of thoroughly useless information.”-- Calvin and Hobbes
(__)
\/-------\ | |-----| |
…c.c…c.c…

Is this telepathy? I just started a tall buildings topic, sort of different, though.

If they have x floors above ground, how many floors will they need below ground?