Famous guitarists who got started late(r) in life?

Does anyone know of any notable guitarists who didn’t pickup a guitar until they were an adult?

I’m not deluded enough to think I’m the next EVH, but knowing that he was classically trained pianist before becoming damn good guitarist by age 14 is a bit disenheartening. As is the fact that I outlived Hendrix before I even first touched a guitar. :frowning:

I have zero musical experience and it’s slow going, but I’m dedicated.

Don’t know for sure, but I can tell you what a friend of mine was told by his guitar teacher. The guy in question is my bass player’s brother. The bass player and I played in bands from when we were kids. The brother decided to learn guitar when he was in his thirties–mid-thirties, I think. Never played anything before.

Anyway, his teacher told him the best he could make him was competent, but he’d never be a strong guitarist, a real player. The teacher’s theory is that you become hard-wired by a certain age, and your mental wiring fights you to learn things like musical instruments. You’re already wired to not know how to play. According to the teacher, a kid is easier. Not every kid will be a good musician, but all kids are blank programs, susceptible to influence and instruction.

Have no idea if this holds water, but it seems intriguing. My bass player is a terrific musician, and a fine singer. That was our forte–we had strong harmonies in our band, and everybody could play. Same guy’s brother can strum a few chords (at this point anyway) and not much more.

Oh, I should add, I’d keep playing if I were you. Only one way to find out for sure.

I don’t know about guitars, but I believe Bruce Hornsby didn’t start playing piano until he was 19 or 20.