FEMA Flood Insurance Required?

I’m looking at a home that is half in a FEMA designated AE flood plane; the other half is in a zone X flood plane. The mortgage lender is requiring that I get a $1562 a year FEMA policy before closing and make that payment every year there after. My question is this, once I’ve payed off the loan am required to keep purchasing the FEMA insurance? If I were to pay for the home with cash would I be required to have flood insurance.

I’m getting the insurance either way, just interested in knowing whether or not its required law.

Also, does being in a flood plane make the house worth less initially? I do realize that it makes it harder sell/resell.

I’m no expert, but as I understand it, you don’t have to buy the insurance if you’re not on a floodplain. Buy why take a chance? I’d sure rather have it than not. Depending on where you live, not being on a floodplain is no guarantee you won’t be flooded out. Our house in El Paso was ruined by flood–who would have thought you needed flood insurance in the desert in an area that averages 8 inches of rain a year?

You do not have to carry flood insurance if you own the house. You don’t need home owner’s insurance either if you own it.

Being in a flood plain could make the house worth less if nearby houses have lots that are just as nice while not being in a flood plain. Many houses are in flood plains as a consequence of being in a very desirable area. For example, a home on the Chesapeake Bay is gonna need flood insurance for the mortgage, but a house two blocks inland might not, but the home on the water is worth much more, all else being equal.

Being near some crappy creek that floods when others in similar home are far enough away to not need flood insurance: Yeah, that would suck, because the flood zoned house will be worth less.

Floodsmart.gov says that 2/3 of flood claims come from people who do not live in high risk flood zones.